h1

There and back again

July 8, 2009

iowa corn

So, I left you hanging with my estradiol conflict and was blog-silent for a week. Sorry! I have literally been across the country and back, with a significant amount of zig-zagging in the middle of this Great Land. I thought I would have time to update, but I did not. And now I have SO MANY things to say…

An overview of my schedule for the past week:

Friday, June 26th, we flew to L.A., where we stayed with my husband’s aunt and uncle for a night, then headed to visit his grandparents in Pasadena. We were there for the memorial service of my husband’s great uncle, who was an amazing man and also happened to be somewhat famous in the world of evangelicals and missionaries. For instance: Rick Warren, Mr. Purpose Driven Life, spoke at his memorial service.

We drove back to L.A. on Sunday night, then on Monday morning I got up at 5 am to attempt to fly to Omaha, Neb. (for work — although I fantasized about dropping in to see Dr. Hilgers). I was supposed to arrive in Omaha circa 2 pm. Instead, I arrived around 11 pm. Oh joy!

I somehow missed my connection in the Las Vegas airport, thereby resigning myself to spend the next 10 hours in that bunker of humming, whirring of electronic slot machines. That airport is not my favorite place. But there was some relief! My husband, “Ned,” arrived around midday for his connection to a flight to visit his family in Kansas. His connecting flight to Kansas was oversold, so he volunteered to take a free voucher and fly out later that evening. As he said it, “I just got paid $350 to hang out with my wife!”

We took a cab into Vegas, and walked around in the scorching heat for 2 hours. We went through two hotels (Paris and Belagio), and ate some delicious gelato. It was actually quite delightful. We did not do any gambling or drinking — our big Vegas experience.

Back to the airport — Ned makes it to Kansas, and I eventually make it to Nebraska. I then drive to my destination, a small town in Iowa, and arrive at 1 am.

I spend the next two days there for work, then drive to my husband’s parent’s house. In one day I drove in Nebraska, Iowa, Missouri and Kansas … which sounds like an awfully long day of driving, but really it was only 4-5 hours. It is beautiful out there this time of year — everything is lush and green. Fields of corn fluttered in the breeze. Truly lovely.

So, at this point in the story it is Wed., July 1st, and I have arrived at Ned’s parents house in Kansas City. We’re there to attend an annual family reunion that takes place in a different part of Kansas every year over the 4th of July. I was a little intimidated by this reunion when I first went four years ago, given that it involved meeting some 70+ family members … but it is so much fun. Knowing that, I was SO EXCITED about it coming up. I was like a kid on Christmas Eve that night, July 1st. I got out Ned’s old trombone and was playing patriotic songs on it at 1 am. (His parents work late at night, so I was really only disturbing my own ability to sleep.)

On Thursday we drove another 3 hours to his family’s ancestral homeland in the Middle of Nowhere, Kansas, where this reunion takes place. For the next four days, we enjoyed a very busy schedule of events that included midnight doughnut runs, late-night frog gigging, a family parade, fireworks, a morning race, a corn roast and a family hymn sing. Good old-fashioned fun and really quite incredible.

On Sunday night we flew back to Balitmore, took the long bus-metro trip to DC … and returned to a really busy week at work.

With all that travelling, time zone change and sleep deprivation, I think my body had no idea what time it was. I am pretty sure I ovulated during the California weekend (my CM would indicate as much, and I had a positive test with an ovulation predictor kit). But my temperatures were still low that week afterwards … at least, when I took them. My charting has been just terrible this month. I was also using a different thermometer, not sure if that could have been the culprit. My temps are now at their normal “high” range, but I’m not entirely sure if I am 10 days past ovulation or two. If it’s two, we totally missed the right window for “relations,” as Dr. B calls them.

I think I am still in another time zone. It’s past midnight now and I am WIDE awake. I should go attempt to go to sleep. Good night!

3 comments

  1. Wow, that is one crazy week! I know cm can come and go and come again with delayed ovulation, but I don’t know what opks test and whether they can do a false positive in the same way. I guess you’ll find out in a few weeks…


  2. Ohmygosh! Your traveling sounds exactly like mine. I grew up in California (grew up in Orange County and went to school in LA) and my husband is from Nebraska. I am very familiar with those kinds of family reunions “out in the middle of nowwhere.” Small world! We just returned from time in Nebraska/Minnesota and just flew in and out of Omaha. ๐Ÿ™‚ In about three weeks we’re flying to LA to spend some time with my family. We’re actually taking a trip up to Sequoia and Yosemite. Should be fun!

    I totally know what you mean about losing track of your cycle and charting. It’s so hard when you’re traveling to keep a routine or a schedule. I didn’t even pack my chart on my last trip because I didn’t want to think about it!


  3. I am taking the:

    Reliv Classic 1 scoop twice a day
    Innergize 1/2 scoop twice a day
    Fiberstore 1 scoop twice a day

    One can of each lasts 28 days! ๐Ÿ™‚ Let me know if you want to order or need anymore information! ๐Ÿ™‚



Leave a Reply

