h1

P+7 blood results

September 15, 2009

So the real news in my life is that my grandmother  passed away last night. I am glad she has been liberated from her increasingly frail and confused body, and I am sure she is dancing a jig up in heaven with Jesus right now (she loved to talk about dancing a jig). But this was very sudden and unexpected — she had been pretty healthy for a woman in her 80s, and I had just been in the midst of planning a trip to see her later this year. She died at home in SC last night.

I was not ready to say goodbye to her yet and am really sad. Actually, even sadder than I would have guessed I would be: I couldn’t sleep last night and have been crying all day. I also feel very far away from my family, who are all scattered along the eastern coastline, and that is hard.

This has been a really hard year.

I don’t have the energy to say much else about it right now, but will write more in the future.

However, it takes much less emotional effort to write about blood test results, so I will do that quickly. Even if it feels a little ridiculous to do so…

I was able to get the P+7 blood draw from a hospital on Saturday — thanks to you clever people who suggested it!  I have an appointment next week, so I wasn’t planning to even bother checking on it until then. But my doctor’s office called me today UNSOLICITED and left the ACTUAL NUMBERS in a message on my voicemail this afternoon. This is unprecedented.

The nurse said that Dr. B said the results were “excellent” — I’ve heard from some of you that their enthusiastic adjectives are meaningless, so I thought I would see what you think.

Estradiol 227

Progesterone 20.3

What are P+7 levels supposed to be? Without any medication, I had skyrocketing progesterone and very low estrogen. With estrogen supplementation, it was even worse: slightly higher estrogen but absolutely no progesterone. So I will say that these results look much better than what I had experienced! But I don’t know what the ideal is … I’m just wondering for the purposes of my appointment next week if I should be pleased with how clomid produced these levels or ask to try something else.

Umm, also — would progesterone be higher on P+7 if I were pregnant? I just want to manage my expectations.

9 comments

  1. I am so sorry to hear about the passing of your grandmother. Please know that she and your family are in my prayers tonight.
    Sorry, I’m clueless about hormone #’s! I hope you get your questions answered.


  2. I’m so sorry about your Grandma.

    I’m not in the same medical loop as you so take this with a grain of salt.

    My understanding is that a good E2 level at that time is over 200 as it indicates a mature egg. P4 should be greater than 10 (unmedicated) or 15 (medicated) to indicate a strong ovulation (my RE actually likes to see it in the 20s). The P4 doesn’t indicate you are pregnant, but it does need to be a certain level in order to sustain a pregnancy if one should occur.

    My lack of medical degree notwithstanding, I think your numbers look GREAT.

    Here’s a great resource
    http://www.fertilityplus.org/faq/hormonelevels.html

    Again, I am so sorry about your Grandmother. Hugs.


  3. So sorry to hear about your grandmother’s passing. I will pray for her and your entire family. May you be filled with God’s peace during this time.


  4. I am so sorry to hear about your grandmother. I lost mine unexpectedly earlier this year (2009 has been a tough year, hasn’t it?). She and your family are in my prayers.

    As for the peak +7 results, the nurse always tells me Dr. B says mine are “excellent” too! Actually, mine are usually around what yours were on peak +7, and that being said, they are definitely good numbers.

    I don’t think there’s any way to tell from your luteal phase progesterone (at 7,9,11 at least) if you are pregnant. One cycle my peak +7 was in the forties, then it dropped to the high teens for peak +9 and then rose again at +11 and I STILL wasn’t pregnant!


  5. I’m so sorry about your grandmother. May she rest in peace.

    Your results look solid. I think “normal” prog is over 12 but they prefer over 15. The key is that there should be a 10x relationship and you have that. My test where Dr. L said they were textbook-perfect (that sounded like a pretty precise descriptor to me, but what do I know?) were 19.8 and 197, I think. So about the same.

    I don’t *think* progesterone would be elevated on p+7 yet if you were pregnant…I think it takes more time? Seriously, what do I know about this. Have your temperatures kept going up and up (i.e., higher than a normal luteal phase)?


  6. So sorry to hear about your grandma! I know how special grandmas can be. May the Lord comfort you and your family in your grief.

    Those results look great. So, that was on a clomid cycle? Looks like that is what you needed. Hopefully, your grandma is interceding for a BFP this cycle.


  7. So sorry to hear about your grandmother.

    Your results look great, what cycle of clomid are you on?

    No, I do not believe prog & Est. p+7 is any indication you are or can be pregnant……Unfortunately!!! I hate it! But those numbers look great!


  8. I trust the clomid…. 🙂

    It took 3 cycles of clomid to work me out hormonally.

    Last month, I had a horrible ovulation. I didn’t feel it, forgot my last clomid pill, and had zero mucus with amoxicillian 4x’s a day. I had it one day on CD16

    Maybe you are ovulating on say your right ovary instead of your left. One ovary, just my opinion, is weaker then the other one. Or you don’t feel as much. But I could totally be wrong. That is just what I have noticed.

    My p+8 this month was 8.3 progesterone and 175 estrogen. Lowest numbers I have seen in a while. I can’t explain it????


  9. I am so sorry to hear about your grandmother. One thought that has comforted me is the idea that my grandmother is spending time with her great-grandchild-to-be before God chooses to send him/her down to us on earth. It makes me feel more patient about IF and it also makes me happy to think that my future child(ren) will know how amazing my G’ma is.



Leave a Reply

