h1

Bloodwork numbers and reference ranges

October 16, 2009

I called and got the rest of my bloodwork numbers from my doctor’s office today, after some cajoling.

I am now on CD 29. No big temperature drop yet, but I expect my period to start Any Day Now.

I am including my numbers below. I’d be grateful for any of your thoughts on what I should ask the doctors to try next. The nurse told me that my first numbers were good but the others were “low.”  (…although they still appear to be in the “normal” range… but the “normal” range is awfully large)

By way of background: This is my second clomid cycle. Without any medication, I ovulated but had wonky progesterone-estrogen levels in my luteal phase. The progesterone was too high, particularly in relationship to the estradiol. The first attempt to fix that was by applying an estradiol ointment — aka “the lady cream” — to “balance it out.” It did not balance it out. Estrogen took over and my cycles were all messed up and annovulatory. Fantabulous.

The new regime is clomid, which I like more than I thought I would (shorter cycles, obvious ovulation, no terrible side effects and it’s cheap!). I also apply 1/2 of an estradiol 1 mg packet each day from when I start the clomid until ovulation. (Dr. B said that part was kind-of optional.)

I am a little (perhaps more than a little) frustrated because my numbers are “low”, yet no doctors are available to give me any advice over the phone on what I should try for this next cycle, and I can’t get an appointment until Oct. 30th.  Although come to think of it, that might be right around the time of my next ovulation, so perhaps there is still hope.

(An aside: I know October 30th is not that far away. Patience, patience. But I feel like I’ve been spinning my wheels with these people for the past year, and I am a little anxious to get things moving.)

Anyway, here are my results…

P+6 or 7ish: estradiol 126 pg/mL
progesterone 18.78 ng/mL

I  went out of town for four days, so I have a data gap.  Now I really wish I had that info.

P+10ish: estradiol 94
progesterone 9.64

P+11ish: estradiol 86
progesterone 8.2

And now for something *truly spectacular*.  Because my Very Friendly inner-city lab actually gave me a print-out with some of my results, I have the reference ranges for what are considered “normal” levels of estrogen and progesterone. This is the kind of stuff I poke around for on the internet all day. Here you go!

Reference range for estradiol
Female:
Follicular Phase: 11-212 pg/mL
Mid-cycle: 18-480 pg/mL
Luteal phase: Less than or equal to 247 pg/mL
Post-menopausal: Less than or equal to 27 pg/mL

Male: 13-54 pg/mL

Progesterone reference values

Non-pregnant female:
Follicular phase: <1/4 ng/mL
Luteal Phase: 3.3-26.0 ng/mL
Mid-luteal phase: 4.4-28.0 ng/mL
Post menopausal: <0.7 ng/mL
Oral contraceptives: 0.1-0.3 ng/mL

Pregnant female:
First trimester 11-45 ng/mL
Second trimester 26-89 ng/mL
Third timester 46-423 ng/mL

7 comments

  1. Those reference numbers you posted were helpful to me…next time I get progesterone tested…I have something to go on. Thanks!

    Sorry about the hassles with the Dr’s. Seems like that is a never ending battle with a lot of us IF women. Geez!

    Hoping next cycle brings forth better news.


  2. My napro doctor likes to see estrogen over 200 post peak. 🙂 You might need some post peak support as well.

    If you are frustrated with your doctor and have been with them a year, i say get out. He is wasting your time. 🙂 Just my opinion. 🙂

    But then I am cynical about doctors who I dont’ feel I get anywhere with. I believe that if I would have listened more intently on my intuition I would have gotten answers faster. 🙂


  3. Think I smiled enough? 🙂 I just tried to post this, and a screen popped up and said I was posting comments too quickly, slow down!

    hahahahaha Have you ever seen that before??!!


  4. sew, you could never post too much! that screen is crazy. Thanks for your encouragement!


  5. I’m sorry that I don’t have any advice about the numbers… I am just as confused about my own numbers! I never understand what they mean.

    Good luck with your next appointment. You’re in my prayers!


  6. Actually came across your site by mistake but saw what it was about and that you are in the DC area. I live in VA and my husband and I struggled for 5 years before we were blessed with triplets. We then were surprised by a 4th before the triplets were two. Not exactly my plan…..but His. Keep the faith on your journey and know that with God….it’s the journey and not the destination. My thoughts / prayers with you.


  7. […] But that is not what you are interested in. What about the bloodwork? […]



Leave a Reply

