h1

Prometrium question

November 2, 2009

I picked up my prometrium this morning. I had put off getting it because of insurance and funding issues, but I realized after picking it up that I should have gotten it last week.

I am supposed to take it P+1 through P+13.

Today is P+3. Oops.

(Dr. B went back and forth on the phone about when I should start it, and I did not remember it was supposed to be P+1. Apparently, it was.)

I took one this morning at 10ish am. It says on the patient instructions  that if you are taking it at night and miss a dose you can take one the next morning, then take another that night. Do you think I should double up today?

Anyone have any experience with prometrium?

Thanks!

7 comments

  1. I take Prometrium from P+3 to P+12 probably for the same reasons. I would just start taking it now regularly and don’t double up…


    • Dr. L prescribed endometrin for me (which I ended up not being able to afford) and that was supposed to start on peak +3. You’re probably okay to just take it starting today as if that was what he precribed all along. But then again, I have never taken it before and really don’t know much about progesterone.


  2. I think you are okay. I have been on prometrium for most of the last 18 months and have always taken them P+3 to P+12 as per my doctor’s orders (and this is what it says on the bottle as well). I am taking 200mg/day currently – one pill before I go to bed. God Bless! – Marie


  3. Starting it P3 is no problem, no need to double the dose! 🙂


  4. I’m actually surprised that he said P+1 at all since you are supposed to have 3 days of dry up/change/high temps to confirm that it was really your Peak day and not a split peak, etc. (This is why you do a count of 3, especially in NFP postponing rules). No need to double up (just like everyone else said).


  5. I took prometrium for a few months and I started p+3 per dr’s script. I never doubled and taking it before bed is the best time for I remember it making me drowsy. THis med made me sick to my stomach so I had to quit. I hope it goes better for you…from what I have heard..most women do fine with it. Good luck with it all.


  6. It’s funny – Dr. B never seems to be able to make up his mind when he wants you to take your medicine, does he? Hope you get some (good) results with the progesterone.



Leave a Reply

