h1

Happy anniversary

November 18, 2009

We were married three years ago today! I will probably eventually delete this post, but for now, here are some pictures from our wedding …

This morning we talked about our vows and our commitment “for better or for worse.” This past year we’ve had several  more “for worses” than we’d like, but we are so very grateful to have eachother. Some of the sad things are linked to being a part of eachother’s lives —  I wouldn’t be mourning my infertility in this way if I were single. I wouldn’t be mourning the loss of my husband’s grandpa if I had never met him.  Opening ourselves up to the love and joy of marriage has also opened our hearts to new depths of pain. But for that, I really am extremely grateful. Hope and despair, joy and sorrow … all mingled together. I could try to shut my heart off from all pain, but that would also require shutting myself off from love and joy.

I am SO thankful for my husband and the dance of life we share.

He reads my blog, so: happy anniversary, darling!

(you can click on each picture to see a larger version)

7 comments

  1. So beautiful!! Thanks for sharing your pictures. Happy Anniversary. 🙂


  2. Happy anniversary. Your pictures are beautiful.


  3. YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL!

    Happy Anniversary! November is a great month to get married in!

    Your Mass looks STUNNING!


  4. Happy Anniversary!!! Thanks for sharing the pictures.. I love the black and whites..classy!


  5. Gorgeous photographs! TFS! And Happy Anniversary! I love what you wrote- that being open to the great love of marriage has also opened you up to greater suffering and sadness… but that it is all worth it. (Except you said it better, haha!) So true, thanks for the reminder.


  6. Beautiful pictures! I love your comment about opening ourselves to both the joys and pain of marriage. We can’t have one without the other. 🙂 But as you say, I wouldn’t trade the pain with him for any amount of happiness without him. Happy anniversary!


  7. Great pictures – looks like a beautiful and fun wedding. Happy Anniversary!



Leave a Reply

