h1

St. Andrew

November 30, 2009

Happy feast of St. Andrew! My newest godson (my husband and I are godparents to three sons now) is named Andrew, so I am thinking of him and praying for him especially today.

According to the internet, St. Andrew is a patron of those waiting to conceive. Do any of you know more about that? It seems so random to me. Nevertheless, I hope that the namesake of my infant godson will pray for me!

You may have also heard of the Christmas Anticipation Prayer, which starts today. The internet tells me that whoever recites the prayer 15 times a day from the feast of St. Andrew until Christmas will obtain what they request. Now, I have some real theological problems with this.  I don’t think we control God and I don’t think there are any magic formulas to have prayers answered (at least not exactly the way we want them answered). It’s not like a chain letter where you send 15 out, get a kajillion back and –bamyow!– learn the name of your future husband.

Nevertheless,  I also think it is a beautiful prayer and there can be no harm in praying it multiple times a day. In fact, only good can come of prayer. So I will endeavor to do so.

Hail and blessed be the hour and moment in which the Son of God was born of the most pure Virgin Mary, at midnight, in Bethlehem, in the piercing cold. In that hour vouchsafe, O my God, to hear my prayer and grant my desires, [here mention your request] through the merits of Our Savior, Jesus Christ, and of His blessed Mother. Amen.

***

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving in Kansas, my husband’s homeland. The weekend included lots of delicious food, hymn-sings, humongous family gatherings …. and sneaky late-night conversations with his aunt and uncle about adoption. More about that later.

I have an appointment this afternoon with Dr. C and my first follow-up with my Creighton instructor. I plan to do the first couple of follow-ups with her face-to-face, and then I will either switch to distance learning or GO ROUGE.

I made this appointment with Dr. C weeks ago, when I was waiting for Dr. B to call me back (STILL WAITING, thankyouverymuch). He had said he wanted to ask Dr. C about my cycles and the treatment regime, then call me back. I finally realized it might be more effective for me to drive out there and ask her myself.

As mentioned in my previous Fury Post, I think I need to find new doctors. Your comments  –thankyouthankyou! — made that even more clear. I had no idea there were doctors out there who actually phoned back the same day and were really clear about cycle instructions. A revelation.

So why am I bothering today? Not sure, really. But directly after writing that furious post I went for a run, which is my best method for clearing my head. On the run I talked myself off the ledge and decided to go ahead and go through with this appointment, even though it might be my last with this practice. On the one hand, I feel like I am wasting time and money and precious capital at work to get off early and go out there. But on the other hand, I already had the appointment scheduled, I have questions I would like to ask, and who knows if I could even see another doctor until my appointment with Dr. S in February?  So I might as well get a little more professional medical input while I can…? Who knows. It all feels a little hopeless at this point.

I also have an accupuncture appointment scheduled for this Thursday. I clearly have some hormonal problems, and poking me with needles sounds like as good a method as any to try to deal with them.

But again, not sure if it is all a waste of time and money, especially right now. I suspect I may have endometriosis — not because I have any “symptoms” other than infertility, just because I have a sinking suspicion. So, I sort of feel like anything I do between now and whenever I can get a lap might just be a waste of time. Would accupuncture actually help in the meantime?

But I also fear it may be months and months before I can get a laproscopy, since my appointment with Dr. S is not until late Feb.

Oh sigh! I didn’t mean to write myself into despair again. Hmmm, how about another round of the prayer? Yea!

Hail and blessed be the hour and moment in which the Son of God was born of the most pure Virgin Mary, at midnight, in Bethlehem, in the piercing cold. In that hour vouchsafe, O my God, to hear my prayer and grant my desires, [here mention your request] through the merits of Our Savior, Jesus Christ, and of His blessed Mother. Amen.

4 comments

  1. I agree…it is a beautful prayer, but the whole “vending machine” approach to God in…pray this many prayers to God and you will get X, Y, or Z, does rub me the wrong way as well. So my approach to this prayer and others novenas, etc. like this is to always add something to the effect of…I ask this X, Y, or Z and if it is in accord with your will, thank you! I still go back and forth on the whole – God knows what I want, does articulating it out loud really make a difference? But he did tell us to ask. Anyway, I hope you have a great Advent and many blessings! – Marie


  2. Sorry for the 2nd comment – but I forgot to mention, I am making St. Andrew chaplets out of cord rosary twine. It definitely will help to having something to count off the 15 with and I like having something special for St. Andrew. Anyway, I have a bunch of extra cord twine – red/white or blue/white and St. Andrew medals (along with the Christmas prayer holy card – about 15 or so). If you or others want one, just drop me a note and I will send it off to you. I figured since a lot of us have the same intention it would be cool to give them out to whoever was going to pray the prayer. I was going to let TCIE know as well as I think she is going to pray it too. My e-mail is gaudium08@gmail.com. God Bless! (Marie B – aka Mrs. B). St. Andrew, pray for us!


  3. I’m asking for an interpretation of “In that hour vouch safe O My God” of the Saint Andrew’s prayer.
    thank you


  4. I had never heard until this week that St. Andrew was a patron for those TTC. I thought I knew all of the TTC/motherhood/family-building saints, but you can always find more. I’ll be praying the novena this year as well – the prayer is so beautiful. I think it is good that you are going to your appointment even if you are switching practices – it never hurts to hear another opinion and then you can either take or leave the advice. Dr. S will be worth the wait for a surgery, so keep persevering!



Leave a Reply

