h1

Disperse the gloomy clouds of night

December 21, 2009

I really cannot believe Christmas is so close! My favorite prayers in this last week of Advent are the “O Antiphons,” traditional prayers calling on the different names of God. They are also the basis for the hymn “O Come, O Come Emmanuel.”

I especially like the verse for today.

O come, thou Dayspring, come and cheer
our spirits by thine advent here;
disperse the gloomy clouds of night,
and death’s dark shadows put to flight.

Rejoice, rejoice!

Emmanuel shall come to thee, O Israel.

5 comments

  1. Boy, I could use some “cheer” this Christmas season. I definitely feel like I am going through the motions. I’m sure on Christmas day…the dark clouds will disperse and I’ll feel the joy of our Lord’s birth. God bless!!!


  2. I love that. Just the words I need to pray for my own personal Advent..


  3. I love the song and I’m definitely needing some clouds to disperse.


  4. I love that song. So haunting. I’ve been meaning to post a verse of another favorite Advent hymn myself – might do that soon!


  5. I absolutely LOVED the ornament you sent me!!! It was a wonderful surprise when we got in from California last night. 🙂 I’m going to keep your Christmas card picture on my fridge. Be sure to pet your cat Z for me!!



Leave a Reply

