h1

Some explanation for the high estrogen levels

January 8, 2010

I called my doctor’s office this morning to ask about my high estradiol levels on the day 4 bloodwork I had done in September, and lo and behold, I got a call back today!

After I had my bloodwork done, no one told me anything was unusual, but I finally saw the numbers earlier this week, and my internet research indicated the estradiol was more than twice as high as normal levels.

High estrogen can indicate diminished ovarian reserve or cysts.

However, my FSH levels on the same day were normal (low numbers being normal). And the FSH – LH relationship was appropriate. So given all of that, Dr. C thinks the estradiol numbers were nothing to worry about. She said perhaps I just ovulated early.

I never ovulate early.

Nevertheless, it was a month when I was taking clomid and estradiol supplementation, which could have thrown it off. I don’t remember if I had started that regime that day.

Dr. C did not really care about it, but I asked to get the bloodwork done again next cycle, and they obliged. Day 3 should be coming around again early next week, so we’ll see (although, of course,  hope springs eternal, and I hope a new cycle does not start.)

Thank the good Lord for helpful nurses on the phone.

One comment

  1. I’m glad that your dr. agreed to rerun the day 3 tests. I hope it was just a matter of having started meds by then. What I’ve read about decreased ovarian reserve says that you can have some problems with it despite normal FSH since the high estrogen can suppress FSH levels, so you definitely need to figure out if it was a fluke due to meds or a true concern.



Leave a Reply

