h1

Collect

February 15, 2010

Yesterday at church my ears perked up at the Collect. It seems particularly apt for this little community as we head into Lent …

O God, who before the passion of thy only-begotten Son didst reveal his glory upon the holy mount: Grant that we, beholding by faith the light of his countenance, may be strengthened to bear our cross and be changed into his likeness from glory to glory; through the same Jesus Christ our Lord, who liveth and reigneth with thee and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

I always focus my prayers on begging God that we may all be relieved of this cross of barrenness!  I do still want to pray that, but I should also pray for grace while we carry it. I think that , somewhat like Misfit, I worry that if God finds something good to do with my barrenness, He might just keep it that way (this is rather silly, I recognize that. I also like to tell God what I have learned already from this situation, in the hopes He will decide I Have Arrived and let me move on to the next phase). But I do want to pray for strength to bear this cross…for me and especially for some of you whose cross has become heavier recently. : (

And what better prayer than that we might become a little more Christ-like? Lord knows I have  A LOT of room for improvement in that regard!

4 comments

  1. Found ya on the Creme… Grace is something I have found myself praying for a LOT these days!


  2. I am definitely lacking in grace. The cross of IF has been particularly painful and heavy in the past little while and I love your idea of praying for the grace to carry it (and not just to be relieved of it!).


  3. Wow, very profound. Sometimes I feel as if there is no glory in sight, no light at the end of the tunnel, and I’d much rather throw down the IF cross and sit by the side of the road. Obviously, Jesus showed us otherwise on His journey to Calvary.


  4. I’m sure we can talk God into giving us babies by reasoned argument :).

    And speaking of arguing with God, why don’t the Old Testament methods work any more? I’m sure I can find a nice fleece to put in a field to get some things straight about my purpose in life, right?



Leave a Reply

