h1

Annunciation

March 25, 2010

Happy Feast of the Annunciation!

Months ago, my husband and I bought a mini-subscription to the Washington National Opera (discounted for young people, and the opera generously deems you “young” until you are 35. Thank you, opera!). We were bummed when we realized we had unwittingly signed up to for the opera on March 25 and would have to miss the festive evening mass at our church tonight.

But  at the time I said to my husband, “Oh well, it’s a big pregnancy holiday anyway.”

(sorry, Mary. And Jesus. I know it’s much more than that.)

We went to morning mass today, which we would have done even if I had not had a positive test. But I was, admittedly, a little more excited about it, given the recent amazing events of the past week. I went to our little Our Lady of Walsingham shrine after church to pray – my intention was to have a heart to heart with Mary about pregnancy.

I thought my experience of this feast day would be totally different than it has been before,  but it was not. And in way, that is how it should be.

I don’t know what I was expecting — like we would both squeal our excitement and feel like we had something in common…? That did not happen.

The prayer that was overwhelming to me, the only thing that would swirl through my head, was “Be it unto me according to your word.”

Of course, this SHOULD be my prayer today … and every day.  Be it unto me according to your word. Regardless. Pregnant or not. With child or not. In wherever I am, whatever I do : be it unto me according to your word.

I struggle with that so much. Even this morning I prayed “Be it unto me according to your word … but PLEASE let that word for this to be a healthy pregnancy … and please let your word be children for all my friends who long to hold them!”

3 comments

  1. “I don’t know what I was expecting — like we would both squeal our excitement and feel like we had something in common…? That did not happen.”

    too funny!


  2. Congrats!! I’m praying for you!


  3. Ha. Well, if that’s His word, then nothing wrong with that. I just checked the date and realized I FORGOT that yesterday was the Feast of the Annunciation! And I had made such clear mental notes not to miss Mass! Arghhh. (I *think* it’s not a holy day of obligation, though. Or else someone would have told me…? I need to look that up.)

    Anyway, glad you got your prayer time and celebrated the feast day well – even if your pregnancy hasn’t changed it!



Leave a Reply

