h1

P+20 blood test results

March 26, 2010

Here are my test results from Tuesday. Honestly, I wish I could go get blood tests every other day. These results were really encouraging, but now it is four days later and I’m like, “Hey body, how’s it going? Are you still pregnant?” (The lack of my period would indicate it is, of course, but if I’m supplementing progesterone, wouldn’t my period not show up anyway?)

It’s just that I don’t have some of the typical pregnancy signs.  No nausea. Not super tired … just normal tired, I think. Much more hormonally stable than usual. I actually feel fantastic.

I know you’re probably all sick of me not really believing this, or fearing this might not really happen.  But I think I have pin-pointed my biggest fear. They do an ultrasound at 8 weeks that checks to see if it is a “viable” pregnancy. (That word “viable ” freaks me out.) And this is my fear: that they do the ultrasound and nothing is there! I can totally envision this in my mind. I’m lying there and the technician gives me a sad look… and tells me, “sorry, there is nothing there.”  It is so graphic that I started to wonder if I had seen a movie in which this happened to some poor woman…? And then I remembered …

GLEE.

Yes, friends, basically I think I am Mr. Schuster’s delusional wife.  I am identifying with a mentally-unstable fictional character on a high school musical sitcom. That might put me to a new level of silliness.

So, the bad news is: crazy. And not in a pregnant hormones way.

The good news is: As of Tuesday morning, at least, I was definitely still pregnant.

P+20 results

HCG:  1,881 (whoo-hoo!)

Progesterone:  26 (this was without taking any prometrium the prior day)

I may have danced a little jig on my way back to my cubicle after taking that call. My coworker said something along the lines of, “Looks like you just won the lottery!” I DID.

They said the progesterone was OK, but recommended that I continue taking 200 mg of prometrium a night. (If you are noticing that my progesterone *dropped* from last time and are concerned, remember that I prematurely took prometrium before getting the blood test done the first time, thereby making it artificially high. My progesterone was 20 on P+12 … I don’t know if it is bad that it is not much higher now?)

So, since they told me the progesterone was not ideal, I was wondering how much I should worry.  Dr. Google tells me the following…

Progesterone levels also can have quite a variance at this stage of pregnancy. They can range from 9-47ng/ml in the first trimester, with an average of 12-20ng/ml in the first 5-6 weeks of pregnancy.

Also this:

Average is about 20 at 4 weeks LMP, and 40 at 14 weeks LMP. It is important to note that while a higher progesterone level corresponds with higher pregnancy success rates, one cannot fully predict outcome based on progesterone levels. Progesterone supplementation is unlikely to help if started after a positive pregnancy test.

So, I’m not really sure about the whole prometrium thing. But I will keep taking it. I’ll get another blood test done on Good Friday-ish to see where things are and if I can quit the prometrium.

Speaking of prometrium, does anyone want to get graphic and explain to me the whole taking it vaginally thing? They told me I could take it orally OR vaginally … but the same prometrium either way. I thought it was some sort of goo when you took it vaginally? I have pills, which I guess I can …err … insert? I am a little confused. I would also like to apologize for just using the word “vaginally” three times — well, now make that four.

10 comments

  1. Great news!

    I think P4 supplements after a BFP is not going to help someone who is suffering with severe P4 deficiency b/c their levels weren’t high enough to sustain a pregnancy from the onset of implantation/conception. That is why most REs start you on P4 supps right after ovulation and do not wait for a bfp. The supps do increase and help maintain the progesterone levels.

    You insert the pills vaginally either with a finger or an inserter (whatever you call it) and the pill basically dissolves. Panty liners become your new best friend.


  2. you are quite funny……..

    I’ve heard the progesterone taken vaginally will “leak’ and thus be uncomfortable……..

    so far you’ve said it, ann and me…..let see how many times we can all say that word! lol


  3. A blog friend of a friend. I take the prometrium the “graphic” way 🙂 Shoot me an email if you want. Don’t want to scandalize your comments here if I can avoid it. heh!


  4. I agree – I hate that word “viable” and I was nervous, too, doing the ole “Toilet Paper Check” every time I peed.
    I had no symptoms either. Not one.
    It is a big fat myth that preggo symptoms = healthy pregnancy.

    Hang in there.


  5. So excited for you!!

    Don’t google- google BAD! When they call with your results (Dr S’s office), they should mention what Zone you are in, according to NaPro standards. PPVI/Dr Hilgers has done MORE research on progesterone levels in pregnancy than any other lab in the world. Ever. Google has nothing on them 😉 I *think* your # is in Zone 2 right now, but I’m not sure. But that’s why they want you to stay on it.

    Scroll to the bottom of this page, and you’ll see what I mean about PPVI’s progesterone studies… they are respected by even other TOP fertility centers:
    http://repro-med.net/repro-med-site2/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=25:progesterone-levels-during-pregnancy&catid=2:pages-ett&Itemid=33

    Can’t wait for your u/s, and yes I hate the term fetal viability, too.


  6. I’ve never commented here before, but have been a “lurker” for some time. I’ve been keeping you in my prayers and just wanted to say (as has already been said above) that feeling sick or not feeling sick really doesn’t mean anything ultimately. I don’t suffer from IF, but miscarried my first baby and thus was very much a nervous-nellie for each of my two subsequent pregnancies. I was, like you, so anxious for the 8-week ultrasound (esp. after spotting both times) and then for the 20-week ultrasound. Basically, as I’m sure you know, you can ALWAYS find something to worry about… but yes these early days are more nerve wracking than later. My constant prayer (including every time I went to the bathroom and checked to see if I was bleeding!) was “Jesus, I trust in You.” May it be yours, too. And we’ll be praying for you and baby!


  7. I think progesterone can really help. Mine was 8 on P+18. I had a heartbeat at 6W 3D. Don’t listen to google.

    I used the vaginal P4, Dr. S says push it up to your neck. 😉 I had some leakage but not bad at all.

    You have great HcG numbers!! Praying!!


  8. Holy heck those numbers are awesome!!!!!

    hahahahaha push it up in your neck…hope you have long fingers! hahahaha


  9. Great numbers!! My Creighton teacher mentioned that when this drug is taken the v-way, it’s absorbed into the bloodstream faster than orally.


  10. Hello–so glad to find this site, as I am somewhat new to the whole Pope Paul protocol(hey, that rhymes)
    The first thing I want to say is that I laughed right out loud when you apologized for actually using the word “vaginally” “three-make-that four times”! SO very funny. I would have felt the same way.

    Anyway, I thought PPVI insisted upon IM injections. They never offered me anything but that. I much prefer suppositories\.
    Any word on that?
    HcG is so pricey. Any of you using that as well? My RE says it is ridiculous. PPVI suggests it for women at risk of miscarriage. Like me. Don’t want to do a thing to risk loss of baby, but cannot afford 400.00 or more a month.
    Thanks.



Leave a Reply

