h1

Triduum

April 1, 2010

A very holy Maundy Thursday to you! This picture is of some bread I made this week, which is put on the altar at my church as part of the “flower” arrangements for Maundy Thursday. (Not that there are any flowers, per se.)

This may be the last you hear from me on the blog for about 10 days. My husband and I leave for Arizona on Monday. We’ll be visiting some friends, then backpacking and camping for 4 days/3 nights in the bottom of the Grand Canyon. I’ll take it easy for the wee tiny babe.

Tomorrow I get progesterone levels tested again. I hope I can stop taking prometrium … and I hope I hear the results before I head off for the wilderness!

I talked to both of my sisters last night. They were both thrilled. I sent my older sister an email yesterday afternoon that told her I wanted to tell her something “shocking and amazing.” That was a big enough hint that she was able to emotionally prepare, without me being too distant. She cried on the phone but out of happiness, and it was all great. My little sister told me last night that my older sister felt a little guilty about the prospect of getting pregnant again, when my husband and I have been trying almost since her first child was born. So now everyone thinks she’ll get pregnant quickly, once she does not have to worry about me anymore. I hope so!

So now the following people know: the blogosphere, my husband, my sisters, my OB and my dentist (no anesthesia for a procedure this morning). It’s a rather funny list.

Everything is in bloom here and the city has never looked more beautiful. I hope your Holy Week and Easter are beautiful! Do any of you mark the 50 days of Easter in a special way? I’ve always wanted to do something to set the season apart more — like Lent or Advent — but I have yet to pick something that works. Any suggestions?

I’ll leave you with the first and last verses of one of my favorite Holy Week hymns. I’ve been singing this one to myself for the last two days (I am using the word “singing” liberally here, because I have a bad cold and cannot keep a tune):

My song is love unknown,
My Savior’s love to me;
Love to the loveless shown,
That they might lovely be.
O who am I, that for my sake
My Lord should take, frail flesh and die?

[…]

Here might I stay and sing,
No story so divine;
Never was love, dear King!
Never was grief like Thine.
This is my Friend, in Whose sweet praise
I all my days could gladly spend.

Blog friends, I hope you have a wonderful, life-transforming triduum sacrum and Easter.  I think I am changed every year. I will keep you in my prayers this weekend.

4 comments

  1. you are in my prayers as well. have fun on your trip!


  2. I’m glad things went well with telling your sister. Have a great trip and a blessed Triduum and Easter. You did a great job on the bread.


  3. Enjoy your trip!!


  4. Ran across you blog. I’m another Catholic miscarriage/IF blogger with a recent pregnancy. We’re about a week apart. It is funny who ends up knowing first. For me it was in this order: husband, blogosphere, one friend at work, then our nanny. Since then, 2 more friends who live in town. All these people have a reason to know. But my family at this point?……I guess I just don’t want to set them up for disappointment due to my miscarriage risk. I’ll be praying for and following your pregnancy!



Leave a Reply

