h1

Sonogram report

April 19, 2010

For those of you interested in the sonogram results, I apologize for holding out on you. My husband was out of the country and because of time differences, bad skype connections and previously scheduled events, he did not get the full story until he came home Sunday. He also subscribes to my blog (hi dear!), and it seemed unfair for him to hear it here first.

So, the results.Β  The long and short of it is that I am *not* the insane wife on Glee, there *was* an actual baby in there AND it has a heartbeat. I was shocked and amazed. I did not get to hear the heartbeat, but I could see heart flutters. It was amazing. For many reasons including: how does something the size of a pinto bean have a heart and the beginning of intestines? Creation is mind-blowing.

The sonogram people were very nice and much more forthcoming than I had been led to believe they would be — as many of you predicted. The set-up at their office is for people who come in and look at their healthy babies — I was lying on a table with a TV screen over me showing me what she was scanning. First she looked at my cervix, uterus and ovaries. Then inside the uterus at the egg sack, then at the baby. This technology is like magic to me — she did all that by putting the same instrument and the same goo on my abdomen. How can they do that? And if you can check out a uterus that way, why have I not had it done before? Or does it not tell enough information to help in infertility?

One interesting thing of note. She easily found and measured my left ovary, which looked vaguely like a circle on the screen. But then she could not find my right ovary. And I began to think, “Do I have one?” Eventually she found it and rather than looking like a circle, it looked like a line. I said, “It looks smashed.” She replied, “Um, yes, it’s a little smashed.” Not sure what that mystery tells us.

Then there was the wee tiny baby –wow!Β  I asked the specific, non-diagnostic type questions that TCIE recommended and she gave me answers that were even more forthcoming than I expected. The baby measured at 8 weeks 4 days. I am pretty sure 8w4d is technically impossible, given my ovulation date, but only by a couple of days. His/her heartrate was 175. Dr. Google tells me that is on the slightly-high side of normal. But Dr. Google also tells me the heartrate is affected by stress of the mother, and I had, err, stayed up all night the night before to finish a big work project. I think getting more than 1.5 hours of sleep a night is generally recommended in the baby books. Never fear, I slept a lot on Friday night.

After all this, the technician left the room to get the sonographer, and I panicked again. Calling on a higher authority makes me think, “something’s wrong!” The sonographer came in and LO AND BEHOLD, it was the same man who did my HSG 14 months ago. How funny. He said, “You look familiar, have I seen you for something?” Me: “I think my HSG. Do you do HSGs?” Him: “Is the Pope Catholic?” Oh, what a card.

Anyway, he was nice and seemed to just be there for oversight …?Β  I asked him about the ovary and if it could be another key to my infertility. He did not think so, he said “Oh, your ovary was there, it is fine. That’s not the key, you already found the key.” That sounds nice and all, but I have not really found any key — this pregnancy is just a glorious fluke, a miracle.

He also asked if the pregnancy was spontaneous, prompting a befuddled stare on my behalf. But then he said, “Or was it IVF?” No, no. Spontaneous. Very spontaneous, in that scenario.

But best of all, he told me “Everything looks good.” MUSIC TO MY POOR LITTLE EARS. Praying it stays that way…

14 comments

  1. Praise be to God!!!!!!!!!! 8 weeks! Lady get one of those baby tickers on your side bar!!! It’s easy for me to follow and I am blown away by how fast the baby grows. πŸ™‚


  2. Of course the side bar baby ticker is all about me! hahaha!


  3. I’m so glad to hear that everything looks good with your little one.


  4. Whew, this is such good news!! I agree, get a ticker!!!


  5. So glad to hear it. Of course, I would like to point out for the record that I predicted this ;).


  6. whoo who! I’m so happy for you!


  7. Praise be to God! What a wonderful update.


  8. A heart beat! That is so exciting! I’m glad everything looks good!


  9. Hahahahaha to the “spontaneous” part. Yeah, you just happened to “fall” pg πŸ˜‰ Whoops! I spontaneously got pg, and now I’m going to spontaneously combust. Hahahaha!!

    Don’t worry about that heartrate, it is PERFECT. Between 8 and 10 weeks, the heartrate goes REALLY really fast, and then settles back down to the normal range of 120-160. Your baby’s was right where it should be.

    It is interesting they did a trans-abdominal. Did they require you to have a full bladder? (We always do transvaginals on early pg up to 12 weeks, it yields more detail, which is why they do it for pelvic/infertility exams, too.) But yes, they can see and evaluate everything transabdominally, too, but that may have explained why she couldn’t find your rt ovary right away (it’s easier transvaginally).

    This sounds like such a great day for you πŸ™‚ I’m so happy!!


  10. Praise God for a great appt! Grow, baby, Grow! πŸ™‚


  11. Great news!


  12. Wonderful news!!!!


  13. Awesome!! I am so happy that everything is perfect. What a great heartrate!! Mine wasn’t nearly that high!


  14. I am so happy to hear of your great news of a wonderful sonogram. Yeh! We’re praying for you and baby over here and that you enjoy a wonderful pregnancy πŸ™‚

    Many prayers,
    Amber



Leave a Reply

